Seeing life through Casey's eyes.

God, Family, Ministry

If you’ve ever served in a church or religious organization I’m sure you’ve heard: God first, family second, and then ministry (work).

wood 2

It’s a wonderful saying and something that is sometimes hard to remember. Putting ministry (or work) first and letting everything else fall behind it happens more often than any of us would like to realize. Sometimes it’s confusing to know when your family needs more attention than the ministry as your heart and focus are pulled in so many different directions. I mean we are supposed to be doing ‘all things as unto the Lord’, right? So lines feel a little blurry sometimes.

wood 4

For a while now some of my family members have been battling with different health issues. There have been a couple of times where the question of if I needed to go home came up, but I never had a peace about heading back to the States for my visit before my visa expires the end of the year. All that changed. I can’t say it was a specific thing that happened or something that was said, because I don’t really know. What I do know is that I need to be home with my family right now. When I finally made the decision and talked with my family and my team here there was an absolute peace that flooded through me. I know that I can’t change their physical health, but by being home for a bit it will help give my family a slight sigh of relief knowing that I am there to support them no matter what the future holds.

wood 3

As I make the journey across the ocean in a few days will you please pray for me? Pray for safe travels filled with God’s favor, peace and rest. Pray for my family – their emotional, physical and spiritual health, for wisdom and discernment as we wait for answers in how to get them healthy again. Pray for my team & the ministries I’m a part of in Thailand and Burma – they are going to be on a skeleton crew for a bit as people will be in and out of the country, pray for peace, unity, and divine favor, revelation, rest, and blessings upon my whole team, the ministries we help with and the businesses we’ve started to help fund the work here.

4 responses

  1. Krista

    Hey sis, I just told the little man he needs to shrink back a few months so he can look like a baby again for his Auntie Casey. To which he started signing, “car.” I asked him where he was driving to, and showed him the sign for Gogo and Aunt. He combined the two in one sign. Guess he is excited to see you soon. I’ll keep praying for you.

    July 11, 2014 at 11:35 am

  2. Dan Ghramm

    Well said!

    July 12, 2014 at 2:53 pm

  3. Kim Martin

    My family has been through some health struggles and losses over the last few years, and it has been absolutely a blessing to be here and be a part of it. I have never valued family as much as I do now, and I have an odd peace and contentment about living here that I have never had before.

    I pray that your time with family will be very rewarding for all and that you will find value in your place there – as much as you do out in the field.

    Blessings to you and your family through these times and beyond them.

    July 19, 2014 at 9:07 am

  4. Cathy Stoltzfus

    Hey Casey, How ya doin?  I prayed when I got this way back on July 11th and am praying again today!  May Abba bless you, the ministry & your family as you bless your family, exceedingly, abundantly above ALL I can ask or imagine! With Love from Jerusalem, Cathy

    ________________________________

    July 21, 2014 at 6:30 am

Leave a comment