Seeing life through Casey's eyes.

My least favorite part

If you are reading this blog, I’m assuming that we’ve met at some point. Maybe we’ve known each other for what seems like forever, or maybe we only had a brief moment of getting to know one another. But I want to be ‘real’ for this blog. This was probably one of the more difficult blogs for me to write, it’s actually had me in tears several times as I’ve worked on writing and editing it. Not only is this my least favorite part of being a missionary who relies on the financial support of others, but it’s also the most difficult part.

kid girl humm bnw

Most of the time I feel like a broken record. But the reality is that if I want to be able to serve God in the place that I feel He has called me, I need the financial support of others. I wish I didn’t have to ask for money. Yes, I currently have two ‘home’ churches that support me financially. Unfortunately up until recently what they give only covers my monthly rent, leaving me to find supporters for all of my other living and ministry expenses (having roommates now decreases rent, yay!).

wall art flowers

This time of year (Christmas & the end of the year) is typically the time of year that most non-profits receive the majority of their donations. A lot of the missionaries that I know also receive extra donations for their birthdays. What if I told you that I actually see less donations this time of year? I’ve been repeatedly told not to ask for support this time of year by individuals who might have otherwise given (and have refused to give towards my ministry because I was ‘rude’ enough to ask at Christmas time). Extra donations or giving doesn’t happen for my Birthday either (often due to the fact that it’s near Christmas). I have the opposite response in terms of financial support as many people and organizations that I know. Yet as much as I dislike asking for people to financially support me, and having to face the negativity that comes with it, I can’t do my ‘job’ as a missionary without it.

kid smiles sepia

So I want to ask for financial support in a little bit of a different way this time. Rather than ask you to give up a cup of Starbucks, a meal out, or something else, I want to ask that you would give out of the blessings that you receive. Would you consider giving all or part of the ‘refunds’ that you receive over the next couple months? A while ago I had someone do this for me, the number of unexpected refunds that this person received was incredible (one was for a few hundred dollars!). I would love it if God would bless you in abundance, and that you were then able to bless others because of the abundance that you received this holiday season.

You can make one-time and monthly donations online – here. Or you can mail a check made out to Kingdom Inc to Po Box 98438, Atlanta, GA 30359   please make sure you write ‘Casey Wells’ on the memo line.

One response

  1. Love u Casey! I just sent a donation. Praying the flood gates of favor and provision. on all you guys over there! Caitlin

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

    December 20, 2013 at 12:25 am

Leave a comment