Seeing life through Casey's eyes.

States and Support Update

I’ve been in the States for two weeks now. So far I’ve had a chance to share at one of my home / sending churches as well as attend my sister’s church. I have the awesome opportunity of having the whole service at my church in Idaho tomorrow morning (Oct 13th), I’ll not only share about what’s happening in Thailand and Burma, but also share a bit of what God is speaking today.

picture needs prayer fall 2013

One of the big parts of any missionary coming ‘home’ is to raise support to go back out on the field. Finding the time and the words to connect with people, pitch what you are doing and asking for money is just not fun, but it is very necessary. The financial cost of being a missionary continues to be more and more expensive, and it’s just not as cheap to live overseas as it used to be.

I’ll be honest, I’m in desperate need of financial support in order to continue living and working in Thailand and Burma. I have not only my personal expenses to cover (food, accommodation, transportation, bicycle maintenance, etc), but there are also ministry costs to cover (visas to enter Burma, transportation, as well as gifts, food, medicine, supplies, translators, Thai lessons, etc).

I’m also in need of getting a new Mac laptop with all the programs for both the office work I do as well as photo editing for my ministry. My current laptop has done me well, but will soon begin to let me know exactly how old it is and I don’t want to risk it dying on me while in Asia as electronics are actually more expensive there than in the States!

The team that I am a part of in Mae Sot, Thailand (Outpour Movement) needs to purchase a team truck to accommodate missions organizations and churches who send short term teams to Mae Sot. Having a large pickup truck with bench seats and cover over it will allow us to take teams to more ministry locations and fun off day trips (waterfalls, caves, etc).

Would you take a minute to pray about what you can give either monthly or as a one-time gift towards my work in Thailand and Burma? To support me financially, just click here.

And then, would you also commit to praying for my remaining time in the States (one month!), as well as all of the things I am a part of in Thailand and Burma?

If you’d like me to email you the above photo with my financial and prayer needs to post either on your fridge, put in your journal or to post at your church or give to any other group please let me know.

Below is an amazing excerpt from Michael Oh on ‘Missions and Money’. I don’t normally ‘forward’ videos and things, but this one really spoke to me and challenged me. It’s almost eight minutes long, but I guarantee that it is worth the time (I’ve watched it at least three times already).

Leave a comment