Seeing life through Casey's eyes.

On Hold

You know that annoying feeling when you’re trying to make an important phone call and you get put on hold? Sometimes there is that annoying music that they play, if you’re lucky there will be a recorded voice that comes on every once in a while to tell you what number you are ‘in line’. The worst though is when there is no music at all, you’re just on hold. You have no clue how long you’ll be on hold or even if you’re still on hold and the other line hung up?

lv me reflection photo

That’s kind of how I feel right now. On Hold. Only there’s no music or recorded voice telling me how much longer I have to wait.

green blue water barrel

We’re still waiting to get answers on my family’s health issues, but so thankful for doctors who are really trying to help and are fighting for them. And extremely grateful for the ‘good days’ that they have.

bamboo siding

My return flight back to Thailand is in a week, but right now it doesn’t look like I’ll be on it. Even if my family was in perfect health by the day I’m supposed to fly I still wouldn’t be able to head back to Thailand… I don’t have the finances to go. I had enough money in my support account to get me through until my visa ended and I would need to head back to States to get it renewed… but I came back early, having to spend more on my ticket than I had originally budgeted and wiping out most of what was left in my support account in the process. Then once in the States there are lots of additional expenses, renewals that need to be made and things to ‘stock up’ on.

One of the things that is important to me before traveling anywhere is to make sure that I have enough finances to cover a return ticket and several months budget saved (just in case). Yes, it’s a safety net. Yes, I do rely on God and the support of others. But I also desire to be responsible with the funds and even the lack of funds that I have.

blue water barrel

So right now the plan is to stay in the States. I’ll be working part time at my parent’s store and continuing to help out at home while my family tries to focus on their health (and the store). If you are in the Boise area and either want to connect or know of a church or group that would be interested in hearing about Burma, Thailand or missions in general let me know, I’d love to connect with more people here! Or if you just want to chat while I’m in the States, holler. Plus you can continue to help me out by sending up your prayer, sending me your words of encouragement and by giving financially.

And of course  I’ll wait in expectation of God continuing to show up in big ways… in health, finances, and all areas of life.

wait teal art

One response

  1. Wish I could say I didn’t know that feeling, Casey…but I do…finances have plagued me throughout ‘adult’ life…and not having that safety net creates undo stresses that completely wear you out, and take your mind & spirit off what you’re there to do…Praying for ya in the time of waiting, right there with you but maybe on an extended version! Miss ya!

    September 10, 2014 at 7:48 pm

Leave a comment